The Jones Archaeological Museum opened on May 16, 1939, at what was then known as the Mound State Monument, a property revived by the Civilian Conservation Corps. In 1999, The University of Alabama Museums began a comprehensive effort to rebuild and redefine the museum, resulting in a $5 million renovation. The newly remodeled museum opened to the public in 2010.
Today, the museum combines the latest technology with more than 200 stunning artifacts to describe one of the most significant Native American archaeological sites in the United States.
Lost Realm of the Black Warrior
Experience our state-of-the-art, immersive exhibit, “Lost Realm of the Black Warrior,” featuring more than 200 ancient artifacts, recreated scenes with life-like figures, and a multimedia show.